Perception!

On this weekend I went to clubhouse in our apartment complex. I wanted to get up to speed with ASP.NT MVC. Recently, I’ve fallen in love with this ‘Ruby-on-Rail’ish technology. So, usually this place is very quiet. One can see the peaceful blue of swimming pool through the wall-to-wall glass doors. Focus lights in the high ceiling, comfortable round tables and comfy chairs, etc, etc. And no distractions, I like it there.

This particular weekend, just after I settled down and started working, a family arrived on the swimming pool. Then started the splashes and joyful screams of those kids and frantic instructions (Don’t go to the deep end, etc) of their parents. I was not very much bothered at this point. In fact I was wondering why there were not more people in the pool area, on such a hot day. After a while something weird started. Someone from the pool repeatedly started shouting ‘MARCO’, then others would say ‘POLOO!!’ MARCO!.. POLO!.. MARCO!.. POLO!.. It was driving me insane. WTF? What are they shouting for? It’s been 15 minutes almost and they were still shouting. They would stop in between for a minute and then they would start again. I almost thought of going outside to the pool and asking them to quite down.

Then it occurred to me. Are they playing some kind of a game? I immediately searched on our trustworthy wikipedia.com. Sure enough, there it was – Marco Polo Game. Suddenly it all made sense to me. It’s a game very similar to our आन्धळी कोशिंबीर. They were not shouting insanely for no particular reason after all. 🙂 They were playing a game – The Mom, and the Dad and the kids. And they were immensely enjoying it. As soon as I knew what it was, it stopped bothering me. In fact, it was kind of cute. I turned my chair back to face swimming pool and watched them play for a few minutes. Then I started working again without being bothered, even though there was the same chorus of continuous MARCO! POLO! in the background.

‘Change of Perception’ can be a useful tool. If you can’t change the situation, try to change the perception.

Cheers,
Tejas Joshi

One Response to Perception!

  1. Swati says:

    Good one! So simple and convincing 🙂

Leave a Reply

