If you get to thirty and you still think persuasion is about making a logical argument, you have already lost

Peter Zarris – CEO of OPICIf you get to thirty and you still think persuasion is about making a logical argument, you have already lost”

I first came across Peter when one of my businesses built a website for Peter that would allow them to select the best psychometric tool for any situation.  Downstream we became friendly and he also did some testing for my staff.  On one discussion with Peter over coffee about why a business partner couldn’t see sense in a particular course of action, Peter stated “If you get to thirty and you still think persuasion is about making a logical argument, you have already lost”.  I came to realise that what was logical to me, was based on my values and experiences and others would intepret the same  set of facts according to their own values and experiences.  It was a real slap in the face to me because up to that moment, logic had been king.  Peter also told me that if you really want to change, understand its going to hurt.  And if it doesn’t hurt, your not doing right.  Peter’s insights fundamentally changed the way I deal with people.

Posted via email from Change Is The Rule

Leave a Reply

